Dr. Thomas Burckhardt

Dr. LL.M. [javascript protected email address]6eTC3PSj59Dx2fIp78B-aAL0dcgk\";var b=a.split(\"\").sort().join(\"\");var c=\"A97ITaqCL-329T-PAKTP072TASpq39\";var d=\"\";for(var e=0;e\"+d+\"\"")/*]]>*/
VAT-number: CHE-453.622.136

Practice areas

  • Contract and commercial law, in particular transport law
  • Private and public international law
  • Arbitration
  • Aviation, maritime and inland navigation law
  • Inheritance law and estate planning

Languages: German, English, French , Italian (good knowledge), Spanish (basic knowledge)

Education

Dr. Thomas Burckhardt was born in 1950 and studied at the universities of Basel, Geneva and Munich, obtaining his doctorate in 1978 in Basel on a subject of international arbitration law. In 1979, he has received the degree of a Master of Laws (LL.M) at Harvard Law School (Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA).

Professional development

Dr. Thomas Burckhardt was admitted to the Swiss bar in 1975, and from 1980 practised as an attorney in Zurich and Basel. In 1987, he became a partner in the law office now known as Simonius & Partner.

Further activities

Dr. Thomas Burckhardt is also a member of the board of directors of a number of public companies and since 1989 serves as Honorary Consul General for the Kingdom of Thailand in Basel. Between 1988 and 2006 he was a deputy judge at the Court of Appeals of Basel-Stadt.

Dr. Thomas Burckhardt

Dr. LL.M. [javascript protected email address]
MWST-Nummer: CHE-453.622.136

Tätigkeitsgebiete

  • Vertrags- und Handelsrecht, insbes. Transportrecht
  • Internationales Privat- und Völkerrecht
  • Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit
  • Luft- und Seerecht bzw. Schifffahrtsrecht
  • Erbrecht und Nachlassplanung

Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch (gute Kenntnisse), Spanisch (Grundkenntnisse)

Ausbildung

Dr. Thomas Burckhardt ist 1950 geboren und hat an den Universitäten in Basel, Genf und München studiert und im Jahre 1978 in Basel mit einem Thema aus dem Recht der internationalen privaten Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit doktoriert. Im Jahre 1979 erwarb er an der Harvard Law School (Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA) den Grad eines Master of Law (LL.M).

Berufliche Entwicklung

Dr. Thomas Burckhardt erlangte das Anwaltspatent im Jahre 1975 und war von 1980 an als Rechtsanwalt in Zürich und Basel tätig. Im Jahre 1987 wurde er Partner im Büro, welches heute Simonius & Partner heisst.

Weitere Tätigkeiten

Dr. Thomas Burckhardt ist ausserdem Verwaltungsrat in verschiedenen Aktiengesellschaften und seit 1989 Honorar-Generalkonsul des Königreichs Thailand in Basel. Von 1988 bis 2006 amtierte er als Ersatzrichter am Appellationsgericht Basel-Stadt.